This doesn’t happen to me… BLINK-182!

I won. I never win these kinds of things. I don’t know how the luck of the world would come to me at that moment, but it did and I couldn’t be more excited! I’m currently in a state of denial.

Earlier this afternoon, I was wandering around Covent Garden looking for Mark Hoppus from Blink-182.

It is taking me forever to write this post because I keep thinking that this didn’t happen.

So, I ate lunch and then ventured over to Covent Garden because I knew that there was going to be someone giving out a bunch of free Blink-182 signed merch with no idea where exactly in Covent Garden it would be or when it would happen. I’m going to say it was sheer luck being in Covent Garden at the time the tweets were going out. I was constantly checking my phone for updates and after about 20 minutes of aimless wandering in and out of Covent Garden Market two tweets came through. The first said, “Don’t be a square. I have a secret item to give away right now. But you must pick that or a signed item. It might be nothing. Feeling lucky?” and the second a couple of minutes later said, “Did I say square? I meant a garden.”

Trying to figure out these hints was just SO LOVELY because there were still absolutely no hints about his exact location until another 15 minutes later. THEN we hit the mother load of intel with the tweet saying, “The nicest people and the best coffee on London.” This was including a picture of a coffee cup with a bunch of spoons in it and then 2 minutes later, “Adronicas the best coffee in the Garden.” I just so happened to be right around the corner from Adronicas and ran over to the front of the shop. Still, I was very confused because there was really no sign of someone with merch and I was assuming that it would be a giant bag of merch or something crazy big. Just some people drinking coffee out front and no one in the shop? Seemed a little inconspicuous to me, until a crazy kid came running into the shop and the barista inside was pointing out the door and said that the guy in front of the shop is who we were looking for. There were about 5 people or so at this point and we asked the guy out front if he knew anything about the Blink-182 merch give away. He calmly said, “No” and looked back at his phone. But then he whipped out a giant saddle bag and said that it was him who we were looking for. The little group of us then got really excited.

I was just excited to have the opportunity to get some free signed stuff. But then he looked at the group of us and then directed his attention to me where he then said, “You were here first. Do you want to go with the secret item or do you want a signed item. Keep in mind that the secret item could be you paying for my bill for the coffee I just got. But you have to be confident with your answer.” I was a little taken aback. Winning contests like this NEVER happens to me. I’ve entered random contests for years just saying to myself, “the only way you have a chance of winning is if you enter so you might as well.”

I remember what I thought when I read the tweet earlier in the day about the secret prize and I was reading the comments on facebook of people saying what they would do. As we all know I hate making decisions and that is exactly what I thought upon reading that update. That and I had no idea what I would pick. But alas, I had to make a decision. Paula was there and I figured at least one of us would end up with something signed so I might as well go all out. HOORAY FOR SPONTANEITY. I told him that secrets were fun so I might as well have the secret. Then he opened his bag and took out a piece of paper and told me to write down my name and e-mail so that I could tell him which show out of any on the Blink-182 European tour I wanted to go to because he was giving me 2 tickets. WHAT

Then he proceeded to hand out signed stuff to some of the people that had realised who he was and started swarming around us. Then it was over! He said that was all of the merch and walked away. I couldn’t really contain my excitement after that. I literally was frolicking back to the LSE screaming randomly and jumping around. I most likely looked like I escaped from an insane asylum to any passer by, but I didn’t care. Paula and I then went to the Three Tuns to have a celebratory beer for signed merch and excitement. I then looked at Blink’s tweets and felt like a moron when I read the tweet that said, “Haha your standing right next to me.” After thinking about it, I was literally standing right in front of Chris saying, “WHERE IS THIS GUY?!?!?!” I’m seriously amazed he didn’t just bust out laughing because I was thoroughly confused. The final tweet? “You found me. Everything is gone. The secret item? Two tickets to whatever show you want on the blink European tour.” VICTORY!

Now I just have to pick which show I want to go to. Sold out London show? Hmmm… the possibilities are endless. I just wanted to share my story of the day with you.

Considering the last time I saw Blink-182 was in the latter part of 2009 in Charlotte, NC for the Reunion Tour, I can safely say I’ve been looking forward to seeing Blink for a while. It should be even more awesome considering there will be new songs to be heard live for the first time! Can’t wait.



Boy am I glad I’m in London right now.

CHEERS MATE!

Leave a comment